Dressing to Impress

 Are we dressing a certain way to prove something? I know I used to.

When I was 9 I was a tomboy – I had three brothers and that year my little sister was just born. I was rough and tumble; I ran around and skateboarded (though I dreamed of being a ballet dancer). I wore boys shoes, socks and t-shirts… and skirts. But only skirts that were as “boyish” and “non-feminine” as possible! 

Being a child, I guess I can’t really blame myself for too much, but I know that I WAS dressing to prove something… that I was “tough”, and I wasn’t a “girly-girl”.

At the age of 11 my best friend and I discovered the Canadian punk rocker, Avril Lavigne, who had the same style as I – boyish. This led me down the path of adoring the punk scene. Avril turned into Green Day, Green Day turned to My Chemical Romance… oh this part of my life can be for another time BUT – my point is – I was always dressing a certain way to prove that I was something. A punk, an Emo, a Goth… a witch at one point. DON’T MESS WITH ME, I AM DIFFERENT, I AM NOT LIKE YOU, NOTICE ME – screamed out (I suppose this was part of growing up.) It was always about how I was perceived – and the weird looks were the best! Growing up, this was how I dressed – this was how I lived to dress. Being the different one always gave such a rush! You like my “look” on the cover of this post? 

Today, at 23 I still have issues with dressing more feminine – I am the worst at matching outfits, and I can’t stand dressing up. But thankfully God is more of the focus of my life, rather than obscene rock stars and fashion. The only problem that I still have to deal with is …. am I dressing to prove something to others? OR; am I dressing to POINT TO GOD? With modesty, sobriety, prettiness, you get the point I hope. Am I constantly thinking, “Ooo, these really short sleeves will really stick it to that person who is really scrupulous about modesty!” or “I should wear this maxi skirt, then so and so, who also wears them might like me more!”. Like it or not,regardless, THIS IS HOW WE THINK! At least .. I do.. tell me I’m not alone in this ? Ha! Oh well.

  So, are you wearing that skirt to prove to others that you disapprove of pants? Or are you wearing it because that is what you believe what is modest. Nothing more nothing less? 

Are you wearing those jeans to prove to that “skirt wearing gal” that you disagree and think that wearing skirts all the time is dumb? Or do you just like jeans and feel comfortable in them?

 Is what you are wearing, or putting on … secretly because of how you think others will react? 

Seriously I am writing the article to myself firstly!

I know that personally, it’s not my first thought; that I dress to impress. But if I think about it for a moment… yes! I DID paint my nails black for that family party just to spite the relatives that think it’s “of the devil“. I DON’T EVEN LIKE BLACK NAIL POLISH ANYMORE! What in the name of Pride is wrong with me?

So tomorrow, as I pick my outfit for the day, I should NOT pick my favorite skirt to spite those who disagree with my skirt-wearing ideas... I should pick my favorite skirt because… hey! It’s my favorite skirt! Its comfortable! But first and foremost… I should wear it, for LOVE OF GOD. 

I have spent so much of my life trying to “prove” this or that – it’s time to turn over a new leaf…

 I am going to prove to God each and every day, every moment how much I love him!

After all … that is what is important. Is it not?

So, dear readers! Please remember that dressing modestly, and dressing fashionably/nice/clean/pretty/whatever must NOT come from “dressing to impress” but from Love of God. 

 Until next time, God bless!

20161117_103036

2 thoughts on “Dressing to Impress

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

